Houston Rockets

The Rockets were founded in 1967 in San Diego, before moving to Houston in 1971. Moses Malone won two MVP trophies as a Rocket in 1979 and 1981. Under his leadership the Rockets reached the Finals in 1981, losing to Larry Bird’s Boston Celtics.

Three years later, the Rockets would draft Hakeem Olajuwon who would lead the team to two consecutive titles in 1994 and 1995. The all-time leader in blocked shots, Olajuwon is the franchise’s greatest ever player. Tracy McGrady and Yao Ming never reached the heights that Rockets fans would have hoped for in the 2000s and now the burden sits heavily on James Harden’s shoudlers and beard.

2019-20 Houston Rockets Preview

With Chris Paul now gone and Russell Westbrook taking his place, the Houston Rockets must look ahead to their ultimate goal, a championship.

Playoffs Preview: Western Conference Round 1
Playoffs Preview: Western Conference Round 1

Joe Hulbert and Matthew Wellington bring you part 2 of our Round 1 previews, this time looking at the Western Conference

NBA Christmas: Oklahoma City Thunder vs Houston Rockets

Previewing a rematch of last Christmas, Tom Wade looks at the Houston Rockets as they host the Oklahoma City Thunder to battle for a top seeding for the playoffs in 2019.