Miami Heat

Joining the league in 1988 as part of an expansion, the Miami Heat have always had a draw for NBA players, and it hasn’t always been about basketball.

Early success was limited until Micky Arison took over, installed Pat Riley, who added Alonzo Mourning and Tim Hardaway. Fun years didn’t lead to winning, but in 2003 Dwyane Wade was drafted, and Shaquille O’Neal soon joined to win the franchise’s first title. LeBron James and Chris Bosh joined Wade in 2010 to win not one but two championships, but Head Coach Erik Spolstera has kept the team afloat since the big three have left.